1. Welcome to Game Dog Forum

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Dismiss Notice

Tips on Reading Pedigrees

Discussion in 'Dog Discussion' started by BRONXXX, Dec 6, 2009.

1. BRONXXX

BRONXXX Big Dog

Hello everyone,

Im new to game dogs and was wondering if I could get some tips on how you guys can look at a pedigree and instantly know how the pup will turn out.

I typically look for pictures, but im guessing there is more to it than that :rolleyes:

Thanks!

2. rallyracer

rallyracer CH Dog

you cant- no one can. if anyone thinks they can they are highly delusional. the only way you will know how an individual dog will turn out is to wait and see. the pedigree is not a crystal ball

3. Trouble

Trouble Pup

A pedigree is a good start but its just a piece on paper u cant tell what type of dog your getting. Different dogs give you different things some of the best dogs have thrown some bad dogs. Look at your ped. and do some research on the dogs on and go from there their are a lot of good people on the site that can help with certain dogs on it. Hope I helped you out

4. BRONXXX

BRONXXX Big Dog

I should have been more careful with the words I used.:rolleyes:

5. BRONXXX

BRONXXX Big Dog

Thanks Trouble, its a start.

I guess then the best thing for me to do is when I am interested in a pup, research some of the dogs in the pups generation and also post the ped to the forum and see what people say. :confused:

6. norcalreds.com

norcalreds.com Big Dog