PDA

View Full Version : Colby bloodline




prettyfulpitbull
04-19-2006, 10:08 AM
Is Colby a good line?Does anyone have pictures of colby puppies and adults 6months up?Where would I go to learn about all the lines?THANKS




prettyfulpitbull
04-19-2006, 10:31 AM
I'm trying to get a puppy and I think the seller said she was colby lines.Here's her pic. http://www.game-dog.com/gallery/showimage.php?i=12273&catid=newimages .The pics are in the gallery

mdknaly
04-19-2006, 10:38 AM
It depends on what you are looking for. Colby does have some great looking dogs, but it's all in what you want you dog for

14rock
04-19-2006, 10:45 AM
Colby is a good line, and a search will show you many threads about them. However, Colby is also one of the most thrown out names by BYB to make them sound legit, when in fact, the dog isnt really a colby dog at all, or even purebred. Cute looking dog, but I noticed the pictures are from www.hoobly.com-one of the biggest BYB tools out there. I wouldnt exactly consider anyone that needs to sell pups on hoobly a responsible breeder. If they offer the dogs up to anyone with an internet connection on the "internet classifieds sites" than how good are the dogs, really? Unfortunately, we also have alot of people on this site who claim to be responsible breeders and peddle pups elsewhere on the internet :(

prettyfulpitbull
04-19-2006, 10:54 AM
Wow!!!I didn't know hoobly was a byb place.I saw people on other sites saying to post on hoobly.How do you know the differance between a BYB and a good breeder by talking to them.I think the guy said Colby.It really doesn't matter much to me as I like the dog.I'm not looking for anything inparticular just a nice puppy purebred.

14rock
04-19-2006, 11:01 AM
The biggest sign is needing to advertise on "internet classifieds". This is akin to joe down the street selling pups in the back of the paper! A reputable, respectable breeder wont need to advertise pups. Many times, you will see ads on their site...but that doesnt mean the pups are for sale, and even if they are-you probably cant get one. Good breeders wont just sell their dogs to anyone with money, and profit is the last thing on the mind of a ethical breeder. I wouldnt support anyone advertising pups on hoobly, but do as you will. We all made mistakes,and plenty of us bought our first APBT's from less-than-desirable breeders. The diffrence here is, you have the knowledge to know better.

prettyfulpitbull
04-19-2006, 11:12 AM
OK thanks a lot.

mdknaly
04-19-2006, 11:50 AM
Colby sells his own dogs off his own web site, email him and he will gladly return it with any info you need. Does this make the "original" a BYB???

Almost all great kennels have web sites, name one that doesn't and then I'll name ten proven breeders who've been doing this for years who all have web sites.

One just needs to be wary of the vast majority of web sites but definately not all.
(I don't have one)

14rock
04-19-2006, 12:41 PM
A breeders website is not a "internet classifieds site". The breeder isnt going around looking for people to buy their dogs, the people are coming to them looking to acquire a dog. And again, simply advertising a litter (even on your own site) doesnt mean you can buy any of the pups. Alot of people just like to show their fans the direction they are going, and what to look out for in years to come. If they are letting a few go, this doesnt mean you can get one either. For the best dogs in the country, a few hundred dollar bills isnt enough to acquire one. You will need references about your character, how you are involved in the breed, your accomplishments and if you will be a WORTHY owner of their lines specimins. To create a great line, you must get good dogs, in good hands. You can be producing the best dogs in the world, but if you are selling them all to Joe Schmoe down the street who doesnt do anything with the dogs, no one will ever know it.

TEXAS PIT DOGS
04-19-2006, 02:33 PM
colby is imo one of the finest lines you can own, as a matter of fact it is all i have ever owned and bred,untill recentley i got some boudreaux dogs.what i would recomend since it is a common name for byb to use to try and get you to buy right then and there,is go to the colbys yourself see what they have and how long till you can get one.that way you know you are infact getting a colby dog.if you dont want to do that be sure on the papers and the way this line of dogs tend to look and make sure it all matches up.for more info i am going to give you the colby's site so you can study on it, http://www.colbypitbull.com/ here you can study the history and also get in touch with them.hope this helps some.

prettyfulpitbull
04-19-2006, 03:55 PM
Thank You So Much!!!

jeeperino
04-19-2006, 04:13 PM
I had a heavy bred colby bitch. Good dog. Couldnt ask much more out of her than what she gave. Here is a pic of her at adulthood.
the fawn w/white dog http://www.game-dog.com/gallery/showimage.php?i=12140&c=3&userid=5109

Mercepitdog
04-19-2006, 04:17 PM
Does colby have any "game" lines or is that when their crossed into others? I dont know all that much about those dogs.

mntman2003
04-19-2006, 04:21 PM
I hear there are some real good ones out there.One is much better than a Mayday dog was that day.

Bullyboi
04-19-2006, 07:42 PM
Does colby have any "game" lines or is that when their crossed into others? I dont know all that much about those dogs.Correct me if i am wrong but colby is a game line. There dogs were origanly bred for the pit.

prettyfulpitbull
04-19-2006, 07:44 PM
I'm not sure.All I know is someone said she looked game bred on a different board.

Suki
04-19-2006, 07:52 PM
If you're lucky, you can get a pup from Lou, these days. Lou is selective and doesn't have to advertise his pups, along with most of the Colby breeders around my way. Yes, as mentioned, the pups are spoken for, often times BEFORE they are even born.

It's on "occasion" that Lou and Scott have pups for sale, and yes, they are selective about who they go to, and are by no means "internet" sellers.
Here is Lou's site:

http://www.colbypitbull.com/


and BTW, imo, the Colby line is a great line, and is well respected around these parts!

mntman2003
04-19-2006, 08:05 PM
every time i talk to lou via e-mail he says he got pups for sale when i ask...guess im lucky all the time....were are you from suki,i lived in mass. for ten years.

jeeperino
04-19-2006, 08:08 PM
Colby advertises in the Gazette, so I'm sure a pup is readily at hand if needed. Loposay's had Colby dogs back in the day. Colbys Grit is a modern day Colby dog I like the looks of. A pure Colby dog from Lou and co. wouldnt be my first choice if I was looking for game stock. YIS

Suki
04-19-2006, 08:16 PM
I mentioned these days, as his breedings have slowed down some.

I am from the North Shore=actually, not too far from Lou.

mntman2003
04-19-2006, 11:00 PM
Cool I wont be specific either...Worcester county lol just kidding. I had freinds in NEWBERRY PORT. LATER!!:D I mentioned these days, as his breedings have slowed down some.

I am from the North Shore=actually, not too far from Lou.

italian2feathers
04-19-2006, 11:19 PM
I got a couple pups that are colby line, and chinaman...got a couple solid whites....check out the gallery on my photos

sedaliapitbulls
04-20-2006, 12:52 AM
I have a half colby and half sorralls Dog She turns out to be a fine dog. Love her dearly. She is probally the best dog that I have ever owned.

mntman2003
04-20-2006, 10:46 AM
I got some pure sorrells always wondered bou that one.

TEXAS PIT DOGS
04-20-2006, 03:24 PM
i could just be kennel blind but i would always recomend getting a colby dog they were my first bulldogs and i have owned them ever since.i have never had any real problems and they were and are as game as they come,at least my stock is.

shadyridgekennel
04-20-2006, 04:43 PM
not sure if its just me or what. but iam finding more and more colby dogs turning out to be shy around people and things like that.:confused: dont know if its just a trait they have or something like that.

mdknaly
04-20-2006, 05:01 PM
Most all APBT's can be traced back thru Colby dogs

chinasmom
04-20-2006, 09:47 PM
Most of you have seen China by now and she is part Colby.
http://www.game-dog.com/gallery/files/3/7/5/8/000_2398_thumb.jpg (http://www.game-dog.com/gallery/showimage.php?i=11726&c=3&userid=3758)

prettyfulpitbull
04-20-2006, 11:03 PM
I got the puppy but she's really small!!!Like the size of a jack russel.Is that normal?

TEXAS PIT DOGS
04-22-2006, 12:09 PM
how old is she?